Previously, it was reported that five former Memphis police officers—Tadarrius Bean, Demetrius Haley, Emmitt Martin III, Desmond Mills Jr., and Justin Smith, were charged with the murder of 29-year-old Tyre Nichols after pulling the man over in a traffic stop and beating him. 

The police beating of Nichols ultimately resulted in his death days later. The cops were arrested and charged with second-degree murder and more for their actions, along with being fired from the Memphis Police Department. Now, it has been reported that all five officers have been released on bond.  The five officers were all fired on January 20, 2023, after the MPD conducted an internal investigation over the beating of Nichols. From there, the officers were booked for one count of aggravated assault, two counts of aggravated kidnapping, one count of official oppression, two counts of official misconduct, and one count of second-degree murder. 

The officers were booked into Shelby County Jail on January 26, and it was noted that all the officers were released on bond on January 27. The bond for Mills, Smith, and Bean was $250,000, while the bond for Martin and Haley was $350,000.